Don’t have a Kindle? Want one? Just sayin’.


Get a Free Kindle Reader from Amazon...Click!

Get a Free Kindle Reader from Amazon…Click!

It took me ages before I could read any ebooks until I realized that my phone had the built-in capability through Google PlayStore. It was nice to have access to all the classics that were free, and to find that I could even download some newer books, thanks to the credits I earned on Google Opinion Rewards. But I still couldn’t read any of the wonderful books I saw available for Amazon Kindle.

I was a sad camper. 😦

About a year ago, as I was browsing through Google PlayStore, I ran across a mobile app for Kindle – as Mama used to shout, “Oh JOY in the mornin’!”Β I downloaded it to my phone and that’s when I developed my OCDoK (Obsessive Compulsive Disorder of Kindle!), and the race to fill my library was on. I was a Reading Fiend once more!

Until I started having serious trouble with my eyes which, of course, can be a horrifying experience for a writer, much less an avid reader. Squinting at that tiny little cell phone screen was not helping matters one whit. Not only did my eyes burn, but I developed what can only be called leopard spots all over my field of vision. For days, and sometimes weeks, not only reading, but even typing for my blog on my phone was painful at best, impossible at worst…and I couldn’t even see to check what I typed on my computer for my book. Plus, I missed reading.

One day, my son brought my grandson to stay with me for the weekend; he had gotten the boy a new Android tablet with a nice 9″ (+/-) screen, which he let Christian bring with him. My son activated my phone’s hot-spot so that I was able to go online and catch up on Old Fossil Writes and even check my KDP account to see if anyone had bought my book (boy, was that disappointing!). It was then that I noticed a link on Amazon that read, “Download Free Kindle reader app for your p.c.”!

I meant it in every respectful way when I yelled, “Holy Mary, mother of God, thank you Jesus, go tell it on the mountain! I gets to get me a KINDLE!!”

Now, I know (being an old fossil and whatnot) that I was a bit late to the party when I discovered this amazing thing, but I was completely surprised to learn that even one of my 30-something daughters-in-law had no clue that a Kindle Reader app was available, either!

Just in case I’m not the only sad-sack old fossil who didn’t know, Amazon does, indeed, offer Kindle reading apps, not only for mobile use, but for pc’s/laptops as well. There’s the actual app that you can download, and there’s the Kindle Cloud Reader, which you just access online (no storage for offline reading).

If you’re as surprised as I was, and if you want one, you can either ‘Click the pic!’ above, or the link there on the left nav bar, or you can download the Kindle Reader app here! I mean, if you’re not embarrassed to admit that you were as clueless as me!

Just sayin’.

8 thoughts on “Don’t have a Kindle? Want one? Just sayin’.

  1. Hahaha, I didn’t know it either!! πŸ˜€ But I got an actual Kindle for my birthday two years ago. There’s already a slight crack in the screen but oh boy, I’m lovin’ it and will keep on lovin’ it to pieces for a looooooooong time! (and then it died…;) )

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad you found the app! I only started using it on my phone/ipad and laptop about 1.5 years ago as well… same for Kobo app (that’s on the laptop) and my once you have the app, the whole book variety is just there for the taking! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a great post! I remember the day when I discovered this app as well! I might have even screamed louder than you! Haha

    Like

Comments are closed.