Missing Mama…


Mama at 17...

Mama at 17…

I looked up to Mama all of my life. I’m missing her dreadfully today.

Mama had the biggest heart in the world – as a matter of fact, if she had ever grown as big as her heart, she would have needed a telescope to see down onto the peak of the tallest mountain in the world.

Instead, she had to wear that heart in a tiny, 5′ tall frame.

Mama also had a temper, and when someone pulled at her last nerve (usually me, methinks!), she was HUGE!!

Have you ever watched the old Walt Disney cartoon musical, “Fantasia”? There’s a part where Micky Mouse, as the wizard’s apprentice, tries his hand at using the wizard’s magic wand to cut corners whilst cleaning…with disastrous results.

The wizard is not impressed when he comes upon the destruction Micky has wrought.

He grows in height and his eyes…oooo’! His eyes turn huge and black, his eyebrows thicken, rise up to the top of his forehead and join together in a massive, black “M” and he turns into a roiling, crashing waves, bolts of lightening, thunderous, storm of a wizard!

That was Mama when she finally succumbed to anger. Scary. No. Terrifying. The woman didn’t have to raise a hand to put the fear of God into you, if you were the unfortunate fool in her sights.

She was glorious!!

Mama never cussed. The strongest words she had were:

  • “What the Sam Hill?!!”
  • “I’ll be John Brown!”
  • “Don’t make me come over there!”
  • “I do declare!”
  • Heck
  • Darn
  • Doggone and
  • (no words, just ‘that look’)!

But even though these were the words she spoke, what you heard, if you were the cause of her angst, would turn the air blue! The feeling and passion in her always came out in her words (and demeanor!).

It was that same passion of expression that made Mama the best storyteller imaginable…and what made me the way I am with words.

Mama loved words. I love words.

Today is her birthday. She would be 85.

I’m missing you with all my heart, Mama. Happy birthday. And thank you.

Mama at 69...still giggling after all those years...

Mama at 69…still giggling after all those years…

8 thoughts on “Missing Mama…

    • Awww😌! Thanks for the beautiful review!

      Every time I read a new one, I see a different way of looking at FDtB, myself. But I’m so happy when, even though different readers describe it uniquely, everyone seems to come away with a real understanding of what the story is all about.

      Thanks again!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Absolutely! I try to add a little update here and there on Old Fossil Writes, but I also have chapters of the novel on “Pearl’s Writing” on my Goodreads Author page, although what’s there is from the draft from 2-months ago!

        Look for a DM from me on Twitter!

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.