Why’s & Wherefore’s – or – “What’s with all the shared physics posts?”


Screenshot_2016-07-15-17-06-51-1

The worst reviews I’ve received, so far, on Folded Dreams – the Beginning, my little debut book published last year, were still pretty well excellent (no less than 4-stars on Amazon, Goodreads and several blog sites), with the only complaint being that it was just too short and left the reader wanting much more of the why’s, who’s and wherefore’s.

“Folded Dreams” is, of course, the follow up novel based on that book (metaphysical/science fiction); it not only expands on the characters and their backstories, but also expounds on those why’s and wherefore’s of the story as related to the broad science of physics. Hence the name, “Folded Dreams”, which is a direct reference to the scientific concept of folding time and space.

Screenshot_2016-07-15-16-34-49-1-1

It is my goal with the novel to keep the really deliciously, shuddery thrill of the first book and turn the story into something that, as the reader is experiencing it vicariously and becoming any one of the characters, they find that they believe it, as deeply as they would were it non-fiction!

I have conducted a lot of (amateur) research into a sect of science that has always fascinated me but is, even so, beyond my non-scientific mind to completely grasp:

Physics, in all of its glory.

“Study hard what interests you the most in the most undisciplined, irreverent and original manner possible.”

– Richard P Feynman

By combining that subject with forays into philosophy and the metaphysical sciences, I’m hoping that my goal will eventually be met. Sharing external posts which are relevant to the storyline will also, I hope, help the reader to be able to read it with understanding. It is for this reason that I share all those physics, spirituality and metaphysical posts which make up some of my online research.

Screenshot_2016-07-15-16-38-55-1

There will be accurate references to the sciences, of course, but Folded Dreams is, after all, a work of fiction…a story, not a textbook…and so there will be poetic license will be taken.

I’m hoping that by the time Folded Dreams, the novel is ready for publish, I will have left enough hints and clues to capture the interest of, at least hundreds of readers!

As always, I’m open to questions here, on The Old Fossil Writes, and on my Goodreads Author and Amazon Author pages.

