“Life of Theodore Grubb”


(“Smh” = “shaking my head”
I’ve known my share of Theo’s in my life. I’ve almost been Theo at one time in my life.
Choices. “smh” angry? or “smh” sad?
Or just, “smh”. Period.)

518-songofmypeople

A hole in the ground… not Theodore.

Theodore Grubb or “Theo”, wasn’t a particularly significant person. He wasn’t handsome. He wasn’t smart, kind or endearing in any way. He wasn’t a man that others sought out. He hovered in crowds, lurking and gawking, uncomfortable in his skin. He sought out others who were as insignificant as him. They wouldn’t notice his uselessness to the group, because they all hid the same secret.They postured and flexed, swore to sound cool, smoked anything, did any drug, fought those deemed weaker, ignored every rule. In my time, I thought their disrespect for all things to be their greatest asset, but this is all wrong. It’s their insignificance. I couldn’t see it at such a young age and perhaps neither could they, but their lack of importance to the world around them came to define their nature. They had to act as if they…

View original post 478 more words

