Uh oh…I may be annoying! ๐Ÿ˜ฌ


“I think this may qualify me as being annoying!”

I have to admit that there have been (and still are) a few areas in my life wherein I’m pretty impressionable.

For instance, when we moved “up south” when I was a kid (and then again, “down south”, as an adult), it took about 3 hours of interaction with the locals for me to sound like I’d been born and raised in whichever location we lived.

The same thing has happened whenever I have developed close relationships, and spent a lot of time, with those who speak with other dialects…such as a broad New England accent, or that of someone from another country. Even living overseas when I was very young, my English would take on the flavour of whichever little friend I was playing with.

Now this may sound off-topic for a minute but, as an Old Fossil, I have grown weary of the television shows with which we here in the U.S. of A. have been bombarded. Even the shows I generally enjoy have become repetitive, or are re-runned to death…meaning that you still get one episode per week, but it’s on every single day of that week! Even some of my fav scifi shows have become so outlandish as to be completely unbelievable, in spite of their genre!

One day a few years ago, I won a PlayStation3 from a raffle at work and I discovered the joys of Netflix and alllll those British comedies and dramas and movies which had only been available here whenever PBS decided to air them!

About that same time, my husband presented me with the entire collection of Harry Potter books…First Edition (USA)…all packed into a mock Hogwarts Trunk, AND the extra Special Edition of The Tales of Beedle the Bardย ANDย two HP wands, in official Ollivander’s gift boxes!

I was 50+ years old and in 7th heaven.

(Yeah, I’m a “Potterphile” and JK Rowlings is my heroine as an author…not only for her projects, but also how she got where she is today.)

Anyway, I was so thrilled to have access to the BBC that I have to admit I binged forย months on Poirot, George Gently, Inspector Morse, Keeping Up Appearances, The Vicar of Dibley and a plethora of British films. I also disovered Monarch of the Glen, Downton Abbey, Upstairs Downstairs, Midsomer Murders and, eventually, Mrs. Fisher’s Murder Mysteries and more.

During subsequent years, and with the help of my lovely husband, we also built up complete collections of the Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings movies (I’m also crazy about Emma Thompson, Ian McKellan and Rowan Atkinson!) and Mr. Bean, Much Ado About Nothing and so on and so on…

Well, you get the picture. I’m fairly immersed in The Queen’s English, because that’s what I watch. A lot.

Combine all of that immersion with the influences of my 5th grade teacher, Mrs. Secrist, and my mother and all of those ex-pats with whom I’ve interacted over these long decades, and a fair few nuances of many UK dialects have tended to find their way to my vocal chords, during that transition from brain to mouth.

I’ve been told that it can be a bit irritating…even annoying.

What?! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

These tendencies are also, at times, noticable in my writing and spelling and even sometimes my habits.

Well, perhaps more than, “at times”.

The reason this came so strongly to my attention was due to a review byย Heather Hobbsย on a book she just couldn’t bring herself to finish, because:

“Along with the character saying โ€œoh myโ€ every third paragraph, there were odd British quirks the main character had, despite being from the U.S.”

Uh oh.

I think this may qualify me as being annoying.

Worse yet…my book, “Folded Dreams – The Beginning”ย (and the upcoming novel as well) may also be annoying!! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ๐Ÿ˜ง๐Ÿ˜„

* * * * *

P.S. – Heather has a really great site…she puts inย wayyy more effort than to just post an assortment of bland reviews. You really should go check it out!

3 thoughts on “Uh oh…I may be annoying! ๐Ÿ˜ฌ

  1. Thanks for the shout-out! I’m a huge fan of your blog so I really appreciate it. My mom and I have Midsomer Murders marathons whenever I go home (“up north”) for a visit. I have “Folded Dreams” on my to-read list and I’m sure it isn’t annoying at all!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lolol! I’d planned to post about the difference between “up-south” and “down-south”!

      Yeah, MM is a particular favourite; I think even more so because John Nettles recognized that, jut like a true-to-life person, Tom Barnaby was retirement age and it was mostly he (Nettles), as I understand it, who insisted upon retiring the Chief Inspector!

      “Absence makes the heart grow fonder”, in more ways than one!

      It’s thrilling to hear you have FDTB on your ‘to-read’ list ๐Ÿ˜€ If you’ve not already purchased it, I’ll be doing a Freebie on Amazon for a few days. I’ve also planned on sending a few signed, physical copies to a few people; if you’d like to share emails, I’d be pleased to send one to you?

      “…huge fan…” ๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks so much!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.