Resting on my laurels…NOT!


Yeah-No, this isn't me. Don't I wish... :(

Yeah-No, this isn’t me. Don’t I wish… 😦

It’s been a rough couple of weeks. Not so much because of any external distractions (other than a persistent head cold…and the 7 year old grandson who gave it to me!), but from the hated “Writer’s Block” syndrome that strikes at the most inopportune time. But (picture me standing up and holding an upraised finger in an “ah ha!” salute), I won’t let that stop me from trying! Oh-ho, no! No resting on these laurels!

Nope! Quite to the contrary (and through no conscious decision on my part 😦 ), I’m up at all hours of the day and night, pen in hand or fingers on keyboard…dashing off a thought here and a thought there. And erasing. And deleting. And re-writing.

The ideas have been there, but somewhere during the trip from my brain to my fingertips, it was all getting lost in translation.

Don’t you hate that?!

One of the biggest bouts of “racing thoughts insomnia” ever inflicted on man (or, in my case, woman) kind and no way to put it into words. And yes, ‘resting on my laurels’ was, at some point, an option. I must add that this option was also through no conscious decision of my own. It just kind of happened…when one second I was furiously typing away and then just fell asleep with my fingers on the keyboard. I awoke to 8 pages of:

“…kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk…”, etc.

Ever done that?

Yeah. When I woke up and saw that, I sort of surreptitiously looked around to see if my husband was hiding behind the bathroom door or around the corner of the hallway, smothering laughter. But he wasn’t, so I put my computer on ‘hibernate’ and took a little hour and a half nap…after I got rid of all those k’s.

Some good did come out of that little self-embarrassing moment, though; after that nap, I was up for another couple of days and I managed to replace those 8 pages of “k” with some pretty good stuff. Of course, by then I was in a pretty whomped state of mind and I have absolutely no idea where those chapters belong, chronologically speaking…but it’s good writing, notwithstanding!

I was sure I was going to get a good night’s sleep last night, when my eyes started drooping and I wound up taking a little, “dddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd…”, etc, nap, but the minute I laid down, my eye popped open (it kinda startled me to find my cat’s chilly nose plastered up against my other eyelid).

“Move, cat!”

So, what’s on the schedule for today? I’m thinking I could rest on my laurels for a bit, but then again…NOT! Coffee just finished brewing, son just left for work, hubby is outside feeding the squirrels and I just chased grandson back to bed with a dire threat…something to do with him breathing out the same air I’m breathing in. And my mind is racing!

Contemplating all that energy in progress is making me kind of tired, really.

Hmmm…maybe 5 minutes of laurel-resting…but I think I’ll call it, “Yogic Meditation”.

Wish me luck!

