Six days shalt thou labour and do all thy work…


old-books-candle-7652605-e1358035452434Not everyone is of the Christian persuasion, but most people do have some sort of ethic by which they live, whether in a religious, or just plain common sense. Mine is Bible based. I’m not ashamed of that, as I’ve found that, even from a scientific standpoint, the Bible pretty much has it going on…maybe not by modern linguistic standards, but definitely “by the spirit of things”. Pun intended.

I spend every waking hour either thinking about or physically working on my book(s). Sometimes those waking hours amount to more than 3 days, then I’ll sleep for a few (or 14) hours. Of course, it may take a few days for me to remember that, in my belief system, we’re told, “Six days shalt thou labour, and do all thy work: But the seventh day is the sabbath…: in it thou shalt not do any work…”

Now, roll your eyes and suck your teeth all you want, but whether you take one day out of 7 to worship or merely to rest, your body…and consequently, your brain’s functionality…is going to enjoy the results of that rest.

Scientifically proven, by the way.

The problem is, even on Sundays I keep having ideas that I should write down, think of books or websites I should check out for research, changes I should make in what I’ve already written. But I don’t. If those changes are valid, I will remember to make them tomorrow.

Then why am I writing a blog post on a Sunday? What makes posting this any different than working on my book?

Oh, that’s easy! “Scheduled post”. I wrote this today, which is yesterday, so that I can rest tomorrow, after I laboured and did all my work for 6 days!

