“I love you more!” – a re-write, an epiphany and an excerpt!


MamaAlwaysSaid...ILoveYouMore!

My children’s book, “Mama Always Said…I Love You More!” has endured a re-write…or perhaps I should say, it has been split in two. Maybe. The thing is, the original is strictly for the teensy-tinesy set, age newborn to maybe 4 years of age, while the re-write would be appropriate for ages 3-5…in other words, pre-K to K (or nursery school to kindergarten, to the uninitiated!)

The original is only about 26 pages long; the re-write is closer to 38. The illustrations for the original would be brighter and smaller; the re-written book’s illustrations would be “water colour with line drawings”, simpler and a tad less detailed.

Because it’s a short children’s book, here is a very, very short excerpt:

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

I LOVE YOU MORE!

 

It’s nighttime and Billy has just climbed into bed

“Good night, Mama,” the little boy said.

“I love you!” he called, as she walked to the door

She looked at him and smiled and said, “I love you more!”

“How much do you love me?” he asked with a grin;

For this is the way that the game would begin!

“How much do I love you? Well now, let me think…

I love you more than…suds in the sink!”

“I love you more than sand on a beach –

I love you more than fuzz on a peach!

I love you more than clouds in the sky –

I love you more than tears in your eye!

I love you more than……fleas on a dog!

I love you more than green on a frog!

  Written, compiled by and (c)1973-2015 by PL Clapper-Twitty (Pearl Kirkby).

 

